Twitchhiker | Paul Smith's travel tales from here and there


In the beginning…
02/02/2009, 12:22
Filed under: twitchhiker project | Tags:

Sweet muscular Jesus. The mere thought of this has robbed me of precious beauty sleep for the past fortnight. But it’ll be fun, right? I mean, what’s the worst that can happen? Actually, don’t answer that. I want to do this because I think it’ll be an adventure, a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity that might do some good, but in my lower moments I can see it all going horribly dark.

Chin up, Smith. Sunday 1st March is the date I’ll begin my challenge, relying on nothing more than the sweet, sweet milk of human kindness to propel me around the world. That’s obviously still a month away, but I need to raise awareness of Twitchhiker now so I don’t become unstuck five days into my travels.

I don’t know what to pack, whether I should take a tent in case Twitter fails me, or how the hell I can possibly get out of the UK. I’m hoping it just sort of happens. I’m also going to have to somehow fit my day job in there too, as well as follow the rules of the challenge – I’m a web editor and blogger, so all I need is my laptop and wi-fi.

For now, if you’re reading this, please start following @twitchhiker on Twitter and invite all your followers to. The more people following me, the more people will be in a position to help me. I really can’t do this without you.


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I would suggest you need some basic essentials: tent/sleeping bag, a plate/spork and sharp knife, a can of emergency spaghetti hoops, some thermal underwear and a spare blanket. You never know, you might end up in Russia and you have to be prepared for these things! Also pack your swimming shorts and plenty of suncream incase you end up in Thailand. Hmmm, it’ll be hard to travel light with so many eventualities to consider! Eeek! I wouldn’t be sleeping so well either…

Comment by alexbettylou

Don’t forget your toothpaste and floss! And more than one pair of tennies, or trainers. Other than that you should be fine. Check out Rick Steves’ website @ http://www.ricksteves.com/plan/tips/tips_menu.htm
I’ve found great info there.

Comment by jillydoc

Crap. I hadn’t thought of any of this, although I possess a very rare talent to pack light so I’ll fit everything in. I can probably pack for any eventuality; the more important question is suitcase (hand-luggage) or backpack? Am I really going to twitchhike or twitchhike?

Comment by Paul




Leave a Reply

