Twitchhiker | Paul Smith's travel tales from here and there


Heart NY? New York reading suggestions
30/08/2009, 17:05
Filed under: travel | Tags: , , , ,

Twitchhiker - A Guide to Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of New York City's Lower East Side by Eric FerraraIt’s been in the air for a while but on Friday I finally confirmed my next trip to New York. I could spend the better part of a week talking through my love for the city. When I return it’ll be my 12th visit since March 2005. The place is a drug to me.

I’ll spend the preceding weeks eating up every scrap of news I can. I have a list of bookmarked sites and a column in TweetDeck devoted to New York news, but I always take it too far – yesterday I spent a couple of hours looking at apartments in Brooklyn to buy. I can’t afford an apartment in Brooklyn, nor am I in a position to buy one yet – I certainly plan to, but it’s a couple of years away – but this lust consumes every waking moment and fuels my fever further.

So if you’re a NYC fan too, here are a couple of must-reads for you. The first is a brilliant site called newyorkology.com which is stuffed full of news and information for locals and visitors alike – they’re also a worthwhile follow on Twitter to get the latest on events and attractions in the boroughs.

Secondly is a new book by fourth-generation New Yorker Eric Ferrara called A Guide to Gangsters, Murderers and Weirdos of New York City’s Lower East Side. It’s a bleak and grizzly account of the LES and East Village in the 19th and 20th century, and the vicious crimes that were an everyday occurrence in these neighbourhoods. I’m about halfway through – it’s excellent bedtime reading that adds another delicious veil of colour and character to the greatest city on Earth.

If you’ve got any suggestions for NY blogs and sites, share them in the comments!


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So we share the addiction for this amazing city🙂
I am reading “City lights” by Dan Barry. Truly amazing portrait of a city in all its aspects. Strongly suggested!

http://www.amazon.com/City-Lights-Stories-About-York/dp/031236718X

Comment by Antonio Bonanno

MYQUALITYTIMEMt. Washington in New Hampshire VOTE FOR MY PICTURE Joseph’s picture http://bit.ly/2vFqC3

Could use your help by voting and tweeting concerning my photo You had my vote in the contest you withdrew from

Comment by Joe Todd




Leave a Reply

