Twitchhiker | Paul Smith's travel tales from here and there


Life on Mars – the Sydney dust storm
23/09/2009, 19:26
Filed under: travel | Tags: , ,

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it here yet, but following my trip to New York next week I’m heading on to Sydney. Australia is new territory for me, and I’m arriving during the first annual celebration of the city, Crave Sydney. It’s a month of comedy, arts, events and food (mmmm), and so I’ll be blogging and tweeting my way around the events and the city itself.

That said, I’m a little disappointed I’m not there right now. The photos of the dust storm that’s consumed the city in the past few hours are phenomenal – the images are like stills from Total Recall. I’m sure it’s that not much fun to be in amongst, but there can’t be too many opportunities in life to see a modern city shrouded in a veil of science fiction. There are galleries of the event popping up all over the web, including Flickr (naturally) and the Boston Globe (thanks to @charlesarthur):

Image by redwolfoz on Flickr. Some rights reserved.Photo by redwolfoz on Flickr. Some rights reserved.

The drama will have long since past by the time I arrive on the 9th, but I’m looking forward to exploring the city and dining like a king during Crave Sydney. I’ll tell you more about the festival closer to the time (or you can read about it on the Crave Sydney website) – and if you live in the area and would like to meet up for coffee or beers, let me know!


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

great pic think it’s been captured really well

Comment by Chester Hotel




Leave a Reply

